Cee’s Share Your World – Week 4

apples-oranges-lemon-watermark

Take a blog hop over to Cee’s Share Your World to participate:

Do you prefer juice or fruit?

I prefer fruit. I like watermelon, strawberries, and peaches, the best. Even though that is true, I eat bananas more than any other fruit. I rarely drink fruit juices.

Did you grow up in a small or big town? Did you like it?

I grew up in a mid-sized city if we are talking population, more like a big town. It was about sixty square miles and parts of it were (and probably still are) very agricultural. It has grown in population since I grew up there. I lived in a neighborhood that was once farmland and there were a couple of fields left behind where we could run and play. There was a wooded area that was a great shortcut to my grandparent’s house and the junior high school. We could ride our bikes downtown and to the pool. I walked to school until I could drive, except for the ninth grade when I rode a bus across town. That was the only year my school was too far away to walk. I lived in the same house the entire time I was growing up. I liked it well enough. I didn’t know anything different.

If you were to paint a picture of your childhood, what colors would you use?

Maybe a blue-gray, a nice calm color, for the first sixteen years. I had a happy enough childhood. My mother was controlling and hyper-critical, so I was very well-behaved and not much of a risk taker. I did not want to get into trouble.

Then, when I was seventeen, I got my driver’s license and a car – an almost new 1972 Super Beetle (thanks to my grandfather). Here we are looking at a color change. The paint would be a brighter blue. I wasn’t exactly a wild child after I got my car, but I had a lot more freedom and a lot more fun. (This is just a model VW in the photo. Mine was orange.)

vw-model-clifton-watermark

When I was old enough to have an opinion about the color of my bedroom, I painted the walls bright yellow with red-orange on the wood trim. That was the actual color I lived in during my childhood. I shared the room with my sister, so she gets half the credit.

Ways to Relax List: Make a list of what relaxes you and helps you feel calm.

  1. The first thing on my list is a walk outside. That usually relaxes me better than anything else. After that, it really depends on whether I am anxious or just winding down. For the most part, I think I am fairly relaxed these days. It is a matter of practicing acceptance with almost everything. If I’m not fighting with the rest of the world, life is a lot more peaceful. A little prayer and meditation every morning helps.
    2. Reading a book.
    3. Watching something funny on television, because laughing makes me feel good, and if I feel good, I relax.
    4. Editing photos.
    5. Deep breathing.
    6. Laying down on my bed can be very relaxing. It is super comfortable.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I am grateful for my Fitbit Charge 2 that my husband bought for me. It is helping me track my exercise (I wasn’t moving as much as I thought), my calories, and my sleep.

This week, I am looking forward to getting together with a friend of mine for tea.

share-your-world2

One thought on “Cee’s Share Your World – Week 4

Pearls are always appropriate. - Jackie Kennedy

