Temptation

friends-2

When thinking about temptation, my first thoughts go to chocolate. That is a nice safe topic. Not today. Today my temptation is not so innocent. It is about a behavior that I find unattractive in others, and yet, I want to engage in it right now. I’m not proud. If anything, let this encourage all of us to be kind when we speak about other people.

One of my pet peeves is gossip. Gossip is defined by Timothy Hallett, associate professor in the Indiana University sociology department…as “the unsanctioned evaluative talk about people who aren’t present.” (NY Times, 06/16/2012) In other words, it is me judging another person, and then going behind their back to tell others what I think about them.

Is there such a thing as good gossip and bad gossip? Gossip can help people to bond because it is a social activity. Good, right? Gossip can protect others from “being exploited by passing on information about bad behavior to warn others.” That is a benefit to the gossipers, so good, right? But, is that fair to the object of gossip? If someone’s reputation is hurt, that’s bad, right? I bite my tongue. I try to ascribe to the old saying – If you don’t have something nice to say, don’t say anything at all.

friends

I was tempted to gossip about someone. I gave into that temptation and wrote about it here in this post. Then I erased it. This revised version is missing some content and that feels much better. 

The photos are watermarked and cropped small because it is my daughter and a friend enjoying friendship – not gossip. I try to protect personal images as much as possible. Please don’t copy them.

The Daily Post: Daily Prompt

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Mimi says:

    I think that gossip is something that we can deem as harmless. I try and take Chopra’s advice and be impeccable with my words.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. A difficult situation. I think you handled the situation regarding advice about the car well. In a situation like this, there are real concerns and there is the opportunity for gossip; the trick is sorting it all out. Don’t beat yourself up if you’re not perfect at it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Robin says:

      Thank you. I’m not perfect at a lot of things. I do want to be kind toward everyone – to their face and behind their back. I contemplated taking this post down as I drove home tonight. I could never be a gossip columnist. Talking negatively about someone hurts my spirit, if that makes sense. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It does. No harm, no foul if you take it down.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Once Written says:

    I love gossip! Gossip Gossip Gossip!!! It makes the world go around.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Robin says:

      Haha! I wondered what was keeping this giant orb spinning. Thanks for clearing that up. 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This “Pearl” of wisdom on gossip is awesome and timely. There is a TED talk by Tasos Frantzolas (https://www.ted.com/talks/tasos_frantzolas_everything_you_hear_on_film_is_a_lie) that speaks to the intersection of technology and hearing. Something, we should look at carefully. We need to discern the difference between gossip, sharing information, and lying…and when they are the same. Thanks for a great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Robin says:

      Thank you, Pam. I’m a fan of Ted Talks. I’ll make sure to watch this.

      Like

Pearls are always appropriate. - Jackie Kennedy

