France In Virginia

welcome-to-france-la-madeline

My friend and I often eat at this casual French cafe when we go to lunch. We have occasionally dined elsewhere, but this is our favorite spot. It is somewhere between our two geographic addresses and we can sit and talk for hours. I often order the same meal. My favorite is the Crepes Romanoff.

It is very rustic and cozy, with a blazing fireplace in one of the rooms. There are large wooden library doors, beams on the ceiling, cast iron, brick and wood framed windows. Of course, I can’t find the photos of the dining area, so next trip, I’ll have to remedy that problem and take more.

When you go into the restroom, you get a French lesson. Yes, there is tape playing that will teach you to count and phrases you can use in the cafe, even though there is no need. Everyone speaks English here. But, the lesson is fun. And I haven’t learned a word of French, although it is a beautiful language. (I am making a stab at learning Italian.)

Last week, the restaurant was decked out for Christmas, with a special holiday menu.

menu-la-madeleine

In keeping with the casual theme, we order food cafeteria style and then when it is cooked, a waiter brings it to the table.

counter-line-la-madeleine

I don’t have a passport. I know that probably horrifies many of you, but it is true. I don’t like to fly. I dislike ships even more than planes. French restaurants might be as close as I ever get to France. And I am perfectly okay with that – for now. Maybe one day that will change.

christmas-sign-la-madeleine

5 Comments Add yours

  1. It is good to have a favourite meal in a range of restaurants. I once took a group of work colleagues to one cafe where I always chose pork chops, then on to another for good traditional English puddings.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Robin says:

      A restaurant tour! I do have favorites at our local restaurants, where my husband and I eat. Desserts, too. I tend to be a creature of habit. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  2. prior.. says:

    The French lessons are a great idea – and looks like a great place to dine

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Robin says:

      It is. Great fresh cooking. The best coffee and desserts, too.

      Liked by 1 person

Pearls are always appropriate. - Jackie Kennedy

