Share Your World #50

strider-soccer-ball-watermark

It has been a long time since I participated in Cee’s Share Your World. I always enjoyed it, and I am going to try to make it a habit on my new blog – this blog. I need writing habits. Thanks, Cee, for the fun prompts.

What is your favorite smell? What memory does it remind you of?

Is it the ocean? I love the smell of salt air. But, I wonder, would this be true without the entire experience? The sound of the waves, the seagulls squawking, dolphins breaking the surface, walking where the surf meets the sand, the overwhelming expanse of water and sky, the horizon at dawn and dusk. That list could go on and on. I love this smell because it reminds me of growing up and my grandparents.

My grandparents felt like my rock when I was growing up. They offered unconditional love. At least it felt that way. That is rare. They made impossible things seem possible. Salt air reminds me of the room they rented for our entire family in Mr. Cook’s Victorian home in Cape May, New Jersey, from the time I was a toddler until hurricanes kept pushing us up the coastline to Sea Isle and then Ocean City. It reminds me of the house my grandparents built at the Jersey shore when I was about eleven-years-old. It reminds me of sandcastles and carefree times. I associate the ocean with peace of mind and an inner joy that I do not feel anywhere else.

What type of pet do you have or want to have?

I have an Old English Sheepdog. His name is Strider and he is thirteen-years-old. That is him in the photo with the soccer ball. It is his favorite game. We now use basketballs because they don’t have all that foam he might swallow. He is a clown.

His companion, Laura, died last year. That is her in the snow in the feature photo, weirdly cropped by my WP theme. She was the most perfect pet I have ever loved. She came to live with us when she was two-years-old. The breeder had shaved her practically bald. She loved to fetch a ball. She never met a person she didn’t like. She had the sweetest personality. She could make you feel like the sun was shining when you were sitting under a thunder cloud.

laura-1-watermark
The Day Laura Came To Live With Us

Sheepdogs are irresistible. They are funny and loyal to their people. Make no mistake; all of that hair is a lot of work. When Strider dies (it is inevitable), we are going to resist the urge to get another dog. We are dog lovers, but we did not get ours until our son went to college. Turns out, they give him asthma. He hasn’t had one healthy visit home in thirteen years. We have had cats and fish. No offense to those who love them, but I have no desire to get either again. No desire for birds or reptiles either. There is nothing like an Old English Sheepdog.

Are you usually late, early, or right on time?

I am usually early, but not by too much. I believe in showing up on time. It might seem like a little thing, I think it shows that I care about the people I am meeting or the event I am attending. However, better late than never, if I am not punctual.  

For recharging, would you rather meditate, swim, walk, listen to music, write, read, yoga, qigong other?

This is a tough question. I don’t know what recharges me. I used to feel energized when we lived in Philadelphia. I loved that city. A good walk in the city recharged me. I used to walk almost five miles a day, just for love of the city. It was like my muse. Poetry would write itself as I walked. There was always something interesting to photograph. But now that I live in suburban hell, a walk wears me out. It is terribly boring to walk around my community. Half a mile and I am over it. I am going to head into Washington, D.C. next week, and I am looking forward to it, but it is not the same as being in Philly or Boston.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I am grateful that I found Kevita Sparkling Lemon Cayenne probiotic drink in a case. I love it, and I have been buying it one bottle at a time in the cafe. It’s a fun beverage – fizzy, not too sweet, and it has kick. Yay, I now have a refrigerator stocked with it.

I am looking forward to my new dishwasher arriving Thursday. The current dishwasher, which is barely three-years-old, died about a month ago. A repairman came out and said an electrical component had burned out. He had to order the part, and then he would return to fix it – $300.00. Cheaper than a new one. No word from the repairman after two weeks, so we gave him a call. It turns out that he couldn’t order the part; he would have to order a whole wiring harness – more like the cost of a new dishwasher. It would have been nice if he had called to inform us, but he made up his mind that we would not want to do that. He was right, but we didn’t know about it, so we were doing nothing – except dishes and more dishes. Armed with knowledge, we went shopping two weeks ago and found a lovely Bosch. Although I didn’t mind washing the dishes a month ago, I can’t tell you how much I am looking forward to the new arrival.

share-your-world2

5 thoughts on “Share Your World #50

  1. I can’t believe the repairman didn’t call you. That’s insane. City girl, cat and book person, reading and writing and like you, maybe a bit early but always on time…I think it’s the polite thing to do and respectful of the other person’s time. Great questions. Dogs are absolutely adorable on your posts…and loved your windows. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Pearls are always appropriate. - Jackie Kennedy

