Magic – Look Up

Magic is found in so many wonderful places. I tend to be a sky gazer, and if I just look up, I am often awestruck by the magical orbs and weather phenomena that can be seen there. Yes, I chopped off the top of the moon. Oops. Lots of energy was being spent trying not to shake. I piled a chair, stool, pillows and books in an effort to create a place for the camera. It shook even more than holding the camera in my hand. Haha!

supermoon-watermark

Last week, we had what is being called a Supermoon. It is when a full or new moon is at its perigee – its closest approach to Earth. This excited me enough to buy a new camera. Not feeling quite ready for a DSLR, I opted for a bridge camera; the Canon Powershot SX60 HS. I zoomed way beyond the len’s 65x zoom for the above photo. It is very flawed, but I was thrilled to be able to photograph the moon so that it is recognizable. I do not have a tripod yet, so there was a lot of wobble going on. The camera did help compensate. The above photo and the one below were taken about one minute apart.

supermoon-2-watermark

Below is yet another shot of the Supermoon over houses in our community. It was taken about five minutes before the two other photos. I took all of the moon photos through a window in my house.

supermoon-over-houses-watermark

Even more magical than the Supermoon was a rainbow that appeared as I was leaving the grocery store this past weekend. It was a full bow, but I was driving in traffic without a camera. I grabbed my phone, an old Samsung Galaxy S3, and snapped a couple of photos through the windshield. It is a little blurry, but I really couldn’t take my eyes off the road to focus. It’s bad enough that I was trying to take pictures going around 40 mph. You will notice the cement Jersey wall to my right, not to mention all of the cars. I had to pay attention to driving. I do not usually use my phone in the car, but the rainbow was huge and it was beautiful. The photos don’t do it justice.

rainbow-traffic-rain-watermark

I was lucky enough to stop at a red light for a minute. It was a double rainbow!

rainbow-4-watermark

The Daily Post Photo Challenge – Magic

7 thoughts on “Magic – Look Up

  1. Superb photography! I’ve lived in Australia since 1964, yet the patterns of the Southern Hemisphere Moon are foreign to me. Do they tell a story? The Moon I’m familiar with is the one with the Man in the Moon. Cheers, Irina

    Liked by 1 person

Pearls are always appropriate. - Jackie Kennedy

