Local

cherry-blossoms-watermark

The photo challenge this week is to: Show us where your heart is. My heart isn’t really where I live, but that is how I interpret the word “local”. I don’t consider myself as someone who believes the grass is greener elsewhere; however, I do not love where I live. I don’t feel connected to this place.

washington-monument-watermark

East of where I live is Washington, D.C.

blue-ridge-mountains-watermark

West of where I live is the Blue Ridge Mountain range.

wine-casks-watermark

Between the mountains and here, there are a lot of wineries and horse farms.

feeding-horses-watermark

Between here and Washington, D.C., there are suburbs filled with endless houses, schools, shopping centers, people and traffic, because you can’t get anywhere unless you drive a car. I live in the land of minivans and SUVs. The one thing that characterizes this place more than anything else are the young families and lots of children. There are more than 80 schools in our town and they are always building more. I live in the land of more.

One of those children in the photo below is my grandson and he has my heart. He is one of the reasons I live where I live.

classroom-watermark

This place where I live might not be where my heart is. It is where I am and that is okay.

The Daily Post Photo Challenge: Local

One thought on “Local

Pearls are always appropriate. - Jackie Kennedy

